It’s Moving Day at the 2024 North America West Semifinal

Good morning and welcome to the Morning Chalk Up Weekend Competition edition.

  • With 100 points on the line on the first day in Carson, James Sprague, the 2023 Games individual rookie, took down wily veteran Brent Fikowski and the rest of the field, despite the elder stateman’s strong push toward the end. “The Professor” will look to make up those few points and more today.
  • Only one event down so far for the women at North America West, too. And there was already a big surprise, as Caitlin Bernardin, a 31-year-old Semifinal rookie, took the win and lead into Saturday. Canadian Games veteran Emily Rolfe trails by three points.
  • The second day’s action has already wrapped at the Oceania Semifinal in Brisbane, Australia, with favorite Ricky Garard trailing Bayley Martin and Jay Crouch by only three points at the top. Meanwhile, Maddie Sturt has put on a clinic with three straight event wins. And Raw Iron CrossFit Mayhem Thunder cruised to the top podium spot taking two event wins, two seconds, and a third. Get caught up below!
CROSSFIT SEMIFINALS

James Sprague and Caitlin Bernardin Lead in Carson; CrossFit Invictus and Invictus Unconquerable Battle for Top Spot

The 2024 CrossFit Games North America West Semifinal by West Coast Classic got underway yesterday, with one event for the individuals and three for the teams. Day two of the individual competition kicks off in just a few hours, with two events on tap. Meanwhile, the teams will close out their final day with seven Games tickets on the line.

How to catch up:

Resources to stay up to date:

Leaderboard

Day 2 competition kicks off in just a few hours. Here’s how the leaderboard looked at the end of Day 1. Athletes and teams in qualifying positions are in bold.

  1. James Sprague — 100 | Caitlin Bernardin — 100 | CrossFit Invictus — 288
  2. Brent Fikowski — 97 | Emily Rolfe — 97 | CrossFit Invictus Unconquerable — 284
  3. Chris Ibarra — 94 | Hattie Kanyo — 94 | Einhorn CrossFit — 260
  4. Patrick Vellner — 91 | Abigail Domit — 91 | CrossFit Complex Wodex — 260
  5. Colten Mertens — 88 | Lynsey Martin — 88 | CrossFit Queretaro the W Pack — 256
  6. Samuel Kwant — 85 | Karisa Stapp — 85 | CrossFit Kemah — 212
  7. Justin Medeiros — 82 | Janie Cheverie — 82 | CrossFit Overtake Team Density — 204
  8. Maximilian Krieg — 79 | Arielle Loewen — 79 | Rhino CrossFit Service Dogs — 196
  9.  Cole Sager — 76 | Kendall Gilmore — 76 | Rhino CrossFit Dawgs — 192
  10. Jacob Schmidt — 73 | Brittany Chestnut — 73 | Verdant CrossFit — 186

Workout Descriptions and Daily Schedule

Below is the live stream schedule for the North America West Semifinal on Saturday, May 25. You can watch all events today live here. 

  • Individual Event 2 — 8:00 AM PT | 11:00 AM ET | 4:00 PM BST
  • Team Event 4 — 11:20 AM PT | 2:20 PM ET | 7:20 PM BST
  • Individual Event 3 — 1:20 PM PT | 4:20 PM ET | 9:20 PM BST
  • Team Event 5 and Podium — 4:15 PM PT | 7:15 PM ET | 12:15 AM BST
  • 100 double-unders
  • 20 toes-to-bar
  • 10 front squats

Men: 225 pounds
Women: 155 pounds

  • 10-calorie Echo bike
  • 1 legless rope climb
  • 10 box jump-overs
  • 1 legless rope climb

Men: 30-inch box, 15-foot rope
Women: 24-inch box, 15-foot rope

$25 Award-Winning Active Shades for ANYONE.

Shades that work and play as hard as YOU do. Our fun, fashionable, functional, ‘ffordable sunnies won’t slip or bounce, no matter how sweaty or extreme your workout gets.

CROSSFIT SEMIFINALS

Credit: @crossfitgames / Instagram

Bayley Martin, Jay Crouch Tied at Top, Garard Trails by 3, While Maddie Sturt Takes Back-to-Back Event Wins; Super-Team Raw Iron CrossFit Mayhem Thunder Secures Games Berth

The 2024 CrossFit Games Oceania Semifinal by Torian Pro has already wrapped up day two for the individuals and the last day for teams. The final day for individuals will feature three events, with four women’s and men’s Games spots on the line. Three teams qualified for the Games yesterday, including Raw Iron CrossFit Mayhem Thunder featuring Kara Saunders, Khan Porter, James Newbury, and Emily de Rooy. Get caught up with full details below. How to catch up: Resources to stay up to date: Leaderboard Day two of the competition wrapped overnight for us in North America, but here’s how the leaderboard looked as the dust settled. Athletes and teams in qualifying positions are in bold. Bayley Martin — 291 | Madeline Sturt — 300 | Raw Iron CrossFit Mayhem Thunder — 480 Jay Crouch — 288 | Grace Walton — 288 | CrossFit Torian Mayhem — 476 Ricky Garard — 288 | Daisy McDonald —258 | CrossFit EXF — 460 Peter Ellis — 258 | Danielle Ford — 237 | CrossFit Chocolate Box Starr Strength — 424 Luke De Jonge — 240 | Simone Arthur — 234 | CrossFit Torian Grit — 420 Zane Shellabear-Healey — 240 | Georgia Pryer — 228 | CrossFit Awaside 64 Army — 408 Stephen Mischewski — 222 | Michelle Hayes — 225 | Tribe Northern Beaches CrossFit Black — 353 Jack Monaghan — 187 | Katelin van Zyl — 222 | CrossFit Kia Maia CFKM — 274 Dante Karangaroa — 177 | Madeline Shelling — 216 | Fitness Alley CrossFit — 266 Conor MeEleny — 174 | Ella Price — 201 | CrossFit EXF 2 — 256 Workout Descriptions and Daily Schedule Below is the live stream schedule for the Asia Semifinal on Saturday, May 25. You can watch all events live here.  Individual Event 4 — 4:00 PM PT (5/25) | 7:00 PM ET (5/25) | 12:00 AM BST (5/26) Individual Event 5 — 7:20 PM PT (5/25) | 10:20 PM ET (5/25) | 3:20 AM BST (5/26) Individual Event 6 and Podium — 10:25 PM PT (5/25) | 1:25 AM ET (5/26) | 6:25 AM BST (5/26) 400-meter row 96-foot handstand walk 600-meter row 120-foot handstand walk 800-meter row 72-foot handstand walk Men: 185, 205, 225, 245, and 265 pounds
Women: 135, 145, 155, 165, and 175 pounds

Leave a Comment